Guide to Sustainable & Ethical Clothing Brands

Photo by    Kai Pilger

Photo by Kai Pilger

The following is a list of clothing brands and retailers committed to environmental sustainability and ethical production. I started compiling this list so that my family could avoid disposable, fast fashion and make better decisions when buying clothes. Sustainability and business ethics are important to us, but aligning our goals with our actions isn’t always easy. This list has helped us and I hope it helps you, too. If there’s a brand that’s not listed here and you think it should be, drop me a line.

Store Website Sustainability Commitment
Aday thisisaday.com thisisaday.com/supply-chain
Allbirds allbirds.com allbirds.com/pages/our-commitment
Amour Vert amourvert.com amourvert.com/pages/about
Armed Angels armedangels.de/en armedangels.de/en/philosophy
Boden bodenusa.com bodenusa.com/en-us/company-information/sustainability
Brook There brookthere.com brookthere.com/ethics-fabrics
Doen shopdoen.com shopdoen.com/pages/ethics-sustainability
Eileen Fisher eileenfisher.com eileenfisher.com/our-brand/our-brand-overview
Encircled encircled.co encircled.co/pages/code-of-ethics
Everlane everlane.com everlane.com/about
Free Label freelabel.com freelabel.com/pages/free-label-details
Girlfriend girlfriend.com girlfriend.com/pages/about
Groceries groceriesapparel.com groceriesapparel.com/pages/groceries-apparel-manifesto
Kotn kotn.com kotn.com/about
Made Trade madetrade.com madetrade.com/pages/our-values
Nisolo nisolo.com nisolo.com/pages/ethically-made
Organic Basics us.organicbasics.com us.organicbasics.com/pages/sustainable-practices
Outerknown outerknown.com outerknown.com/pages/sustainability
Pact wearpact.com wearpact.com/about
Patagonia patagonia.com patagonia.com/corporate-responsibility.html
People Tree peopletree.co.uk peopletree.co.uk/about-us
Recover Brands recoverbrands.com recoverbrands.com/pages/our-story
Reformation thereformation.com thereformation.com/pages/sustainable-practices
Sea2See sea2see.org sea2see.org/pages/sustainability
Sezane sezane.com/us sezane.com/us/about/sezane-sustainable-program
St. Roche st-roche.com st-roche.com/pages/about-us
Summersalt summersalt.com summersalt.com/pages/faqs#special-materials
The Kit thekit.com thekit.com/pages/mission
Thought wearethought.com wearethought.com/our-world
Todd Shelton toddshelton.com toddshelton.com/values
Whimsy + Row whimsyandrow.com whimsyandrow.com/pages/our-process